NEONCOG's Mission

About NEON

North East Ohio Network (NEON), a regional council of governments, was founded in 1996 by six county boards of developmental disabilities. These six counties (Columbiana, Geauga, Medina, Portage, Stark, and Trumbull) created NEON to enhance services to meet the needs of individuals with DD in their respective communities through agency cooperation, collaboration, and coordination. County board superintendents provide direct leadership through their membership and participation on the Council Governing Board. The initial service model focused on assistance to county boards with Medicaid home and community based waiver services.

By 2006, there were 14 county boards of DD in northeast Ohio who were members of NEON, and the service delivery model had expanded. NEON currently provides an array of services and counties purchase services based on their respective needs, and efficiencies and economies of scale are obtained through multi-county participation.

NEON continues to provide an option to county members to maximize their resources.

Services currently provided to member county boards are:

  • Waiver Administration
    • Compliance Reviews
    • Compensation – PAWS
    • Free Choice of Provider
    • Technical Assistance
  • Local Funding and Supported Living-Administration and Invoice Payment
  • Contracting for Supported Living and Room and Board
  • Family Support Services – Administration and Invoice Payment
  • MUI Investigations
  • Quality Assurance Services
  • Quality Assessment Registered Nurse Services

Board Meetings

The North East Ohio Network, Council of Governments for County Boards of Developmental Disabilities in northeast Ohio, announces the dates of regular meetings for 2014.

The meetings begin at 10 A.M. and are held in the Directors’ Room of the Holiday Inn, 4073 Medina Road (I-77 at Route 18), Montrose, Ohio.

Dates of 2016 NEON Board Meetings